Thanks, Class of 2020! APS Reaches All-Time Graduation Rate High of 80.3 Percent

The day after we celebrated the graduating Class of 2020 with commencement activities at Lakewood Stadium (see here and here), Atlanta Public Schools received some incredible news: Cohort 2020 achieved the district’s all-time highest graduation rate! That’s right! APS achieved an 80.3 percent graduation rate for cohort 2020, according to graduation data released today by... Continue Reading →

Featured post

The Week with Dr. Lisa Herring – Week of November 16 & 23

Good day, Atlanta Public Schools! I’m Dr. Lisa Herring, Superintendent. Welcome back to “The Week,” where we provide you with a video summary of the news and information you need most from Atlanta Public Schools. Today, my guests include Yolonda Brown, our new Chief Academic Officer, and Tauheedah Baker-Jones, our new Chief Equity and Social... Continue Reading →

Atlanta Public Schools Launches Interventions for Students Most Impacted during Pandemic

As everyone in the Atlanta Public Schools community knows too well, the COVID-19 pandemic has created numerous obstacles and challenges to quality teaching and learning despite our best efforts. Most of our students have lost invaluable learning time since March, placing them at a greater risk of not being prepared for college, career, and life.... Continue Reading →

Blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: